Confirmations from Speakers Assure Fine Meeting

On Monday morning, April 20, 1959, in the Grand Ballroom of the Roosevelt hotel in New Orleans, President James C. Konen will call to order our next annual meeting, the meeting which will mark a significant milestone in the

history of our Society, our Golden Anniversary.

Plans for this meeting are rapidly being shaped up, according to C. L. Hoffpauir, chairman. The technical sessions will begin at 2 p.m. Monday. A large number of papers, already indicated, and three symposia will necessitate concurrent sessions throughout the meeting. A symposium on the "Advances in Fats and Oils Technology in the United States During the Past 50 Years" is now complete with the inclusion of papers by Donald H. Wheeler of General Mills Inc., Minneapolis, Minn., and R. A. Duncan of Procter and Gamble Company, Ivorydale, O.

Confirmations have also been received from many speakers on the other two symposia, "Fifty Years of Fats and Oils Research in Different Parts of the World" and "Industrial Processing." The complete technical program will appear in the March issue of the Journal.

An entertailing program of entertainment to king address the complete technical program will appear in the March issue of the Journal.

An outstanding program of entertainment, taking advantage of the unique character of New Orleans and the occasion of the 50th Anniversary of the American Oil Chemists' Society, includes a mixer on Sunday night, April 19; the traditional Past Presidents' dinner on Monday, April 20; the annual banquet on Tuesday, April 21; and the Awards luncheon on Wednesday, April 22. The Ladies' Entertainment Committee has arranged for a tour of the city, a coffee in the Vieux Carré, and luncheon at one of New Orleans' famous restaurants. The annual golf tournament is set for Tuesday afteroon, April 21, with the usual array of fine prizes for the contestants.

Requests for reservations should be sent to W. S. Singleton, chairman, Reservations Committee, Box 7307, New Orleans 19, La., as soon as possible to assure choice

accommodations.

N. B. Knoepfler

Voting Deadline March 23

Deadline for voting by mail for the 1959-60 candidates for office in the American Oil Chemists' Society will be March 23, 1959. Candidates are president, N. D. Embree; vice president, R. W. Bates and A. E. MacGee; secretary, R. C. Stillman; treasurer, A. F. Kapeeki; members-at-large, A. R. Baldwin, D. S. Bolley, G. C. Cayanagh, J. C. Harris, K. F. Mattil, and R. L. Terrill. Ballots were sent out to active members as of January 12.

Elect N.C.S. Officers

The Northern California Section enjoyed a well-attended meeting on November 21, 1958, which was addressed by Charles Carr of Cresap, McCormick, and Paget on management problems. An authority in this field, Mr. Carr contributed a fund of useful information. In addition, several who had attended the fall meeting of the Society in Chicago reported highlights of the program.

It was announced by the chairman that the American Oil Chemists' Society had awarded Thomas E. Drisko of Best Foods Division, Corn Products Company, emeritus membership on the occasion of his retirement next year. Mr. Drisko has been an active member of the Society for

38 years.

Officers elected for 1959 were: George Rosenblatt, chairman; Keene P. Dimick, vice chairman; Ernest J. Jacobson, secretary; and James F. Fuller, treasurer.

ERNEST B. KESTER



R. M. Persell Treasurer



H. L. E. Vix Registration

New Members

Active

Emre Bleier, detergent laboratory, Nopco Chemical Com-

pany, Harrison, N. J.
William Fredrick Buth, director of chemical research, Kolmar Laboratories Inc., Port Jervis, N.Y.

James O. Clutter, quality control manager, Armour and

Company, Soap Division, Chicago, Ill. Clair A. Kennedy, assistant laboratory director, product development, General Foods Corporation, Tarrytown,

Krystyna Czeslawa Kopaczyk, graduate student-fellow, University of Illinois, Urbana

Laddie J. Lankas, chemist, Armour Chemical Division, La Grange, Ill.

Vaidyanath Mahadevan, research fellow, Hormel Institute, Austin, Minn.

George W. Raupp, manager, Fatty Acid Division, E. F. Drew and Company Inc., Boonton, N. J.

Herbert W. Rawlings, laboratory supervisor, Distillation Products Industries, Rochester, N.Y.

Leslie McMurtry Reid Jr., technical staff, Oil Mill Division, Buckeye Cellulose Corporation, Cincinnati, O.

Archibald S. Richer, vice president and plant manager, Fine Organics Inc., Lodi, N.J.

Harvey E. Smith, chemical engineer, Clinton Corn Processing Company, Clinton, Ia.

Reno J. White, project engineer, Chemical Plants Division, Blaw-Knox Company, Pittsburgh, Pa.

Calvin Fred Mantooth, chemist in charge of laboratory, California Cotton Oil Corporation, Los Angeles, Calif.

Corporation Associate

Swift and Company, M. M. Piskur, representative, Chicago, Ill.

A new combination hot plate and magnetic stirrer for laboratory use, developed by E. H. Sargent and Company, Chicago, Ill., is so designed that, while producing the required heat, its stainless steel case remains cool at all times.

A new electric motor, designed by Electric Motor Division of the A. O. Smith Corporation, features complete protection for its starting switch.